2009 Audi A4 DTM Claims 3rd Consecutive Title

2009 Audi A4 Dtm Victory Title Front View
Last weekend, Audi became the first ever car manufacturer to achieve a title hat-trick in the international touring car racing series. Audi has clinched the coveted trophy for the third consecutive time.

In the finale at the Hockenheimring in front of a turnout of 155,000 spectators, Audi driver Timo Scheider stayed on the heels of his only remaining rival for the title, Gary Paffett, during the entire 39 laps to successfully defended his title from last year by finishing in second place.

For Audi, after 1990 (Hans-Joachim Stuck), 1991 (Frank Biela), 2002 (Laurent Aiello), 2004 (Mattias Ekström), 2007 (Mattias Ekström) and 2008 (Timo Scheider), this marks the seventh DTM title and the fourth since the brand returned to the series with a manufacturer’s commitment in 2004. No car manufacturer has ever consecutively won three titles in the DTM.

Scheider won twice in the ‘09 season and mounted the podium at six of the ten races. He was the most consistent driver and in the end had an advantage of five points over Mercedes driver Gary Paffett.